The Fill-In Boyfriend by Kasie West

Genre: Fiction, Young Adult, Romance
My rating: 5/5
Recommended for: People who like cute high school romance

Fill--Boyfriend

Gia Montgomery needed help to prove to her friends that her boyfriend Bradley was real – only that he broke up with her just before prom! It’s okay, though – she found a stand-in on the parking lot. They would just go in, have fun at prom, prove to her friends that she did have a boyfriend, thank you very much, and then never see each other again, right? (Wrong!)

Wow, I’m really surprised at how much I liked the book! I loved it, even. I thought it was going to be one of those books that I read and then felt “oh okay” toward afterward, and I’m so glad it turned out to be so much more than that.

You’ll understand why I thought I wasn’t going to like this book as much as I do after you read the premise, so here goes: a girl is dumped right before prom before she can show him off to her friends who have been thinking that maybe her boyfriend doesn’t live in the real world, that he is completely made-up. Luckily, she finds a guy who is willing to pretend to be her boyfriend for the night so she can prove to her friends that she hasn’t been lying to them… until then.

Yeah, you’re probably thinking, “Who asks some guy she barely knows to help her lie to her friends? Who in the world agrees to that?” I know, I know. That’s what I thought, too.

But I’m seriously glad I didn’t miss out on this one. It’s got everything I like: youth (I’ve been thinking about why I like books about high school romance so much), a cute nerdy guy in glasses, an unexpected friendship (man, those are the best), and actual life lessons. All in a fun, relatable, funny package!

Bonus points:

  • Cute nerdy guys in glasses
  • Unexpected friendships
  • Gia’s boots in the cover (why I picked the book up in the first place, HA)
Leave a Reply

