The Rosie Project (Don Tillman #1) by Graeme Simsion

Genre: Fiction
My rating: 4.5/5
Recommended for: People who like Sheldon Cooper from The Big Bang Theory and want to see a more social version of him falling in love?

rosie-project-9781476729091_hr
Click the picture to go to the Goodreads page!

 

My wonderful cousin lent me this book on Saturday, and I didn’t pick it up until this afternoon. I devoured it in mere hours! It was that good!

This is a story of Don Tillman, a very intellectual 39-year-old genetics professor who lives with rigorous schedules and a serious lack of social skills (think Sheldon, but less annoying). When he decides to find a partner in life, he launches The Wife Project, in which he screens for candidates by a strenuous questionnaire not unlike that you may see on Match.com. In comes Rosie Jarman to his life, a 29-year-old bartender who smokes and is always late! Worst of all, she doesn’t care about his scheduled life, making her an unsuitable partner. Yet, he finds himself spending so much time with her…

Okay, my summary completely doesn’t do this book justice, but it’s 2:43 a.m. and I need to get this out of my chest before I will be able to sleep. I LOVED THE BOOK! I actually just found out that this is the first of a series, and I legit threw my arms to the air and yelled YEAH triumphantly.

The story is written completely from Don’s point of view, and I like his voice and choice of words. They show so much how Don is “wired differently,” that he has a bit of a trouble communicating with other people, especially if jokes and sarcasm are involved. I like Rosie as well, and it actually surprises me a little bit! She’s just so out there and she isn’t afraid to be herself, which is a quality I admire strongly. I find Don the most adorable when he’s with her. I love how they encourage each other to better themselves, even without knowing it!

I think this well-written, hilarious book also did a good job on introducing how people with Asperger’s syndrome like Don are no less people than those without. I’m not sure if it was accurate in portraying how people with Asperger’s think and feel as I am obviously not an expert, but it sure was mind-opening, to me, at least. I definitely recommend this book if you want a quick read that is cute, funny, and gets you in touch with your emotions.

Bonus points:

  • Melbourne, Australia is the setting of most of the book!
  • Don’s friendships with Daphne and Claudia
  • It has been translated to Bahasa Indonesia
Leave a Reply

