Carry On by Rainbow Rowell

Genre: Fiction, Fantasy, Magic, LGBT
My rating: 5/5
Recommended for: People who miss Harry Potter and probably Harry x Draco shippers

carryon-900x1262

 

Simon Snow is The Chosen One, but he isn’t very good at it. Magic doesn’t come naturally for him like it does for his classmates at Watford School of Magicks, even though he needs to stop an evil villain called The Insidious Humdrum from destroying the World of Mages. Not to mention that Baz, his roommate whom he suspects is a vampire, has been trying to kill him since their first year of school! It’s okay though, his super-reliable best friend Penelope Bunce helps him all the time, even when he doesn’t really want her to. Hey, what are friends for, yeah?

For those of you who have read Rainbow Rowell’s Fangirl, you have met Simon and Baz from the little excerpts at the end of some chapters. That’s how I first met them, too. Their parts were not immediately relevant to Fangirl, so I skipped them and read them after I finished it. That made me focus on them and their world and their relationship and hell yeah I wanted their full story and not just chunks of it! Guess how ecstatic I was when I found out Rowell was writing Carry On.

I love everything about this book: the story, the characters, the relationships they have, the world, and the cover. The story and the world building remind me so much of Harry Potter (and how I haven’t read any of the books! Such a sinner!), and it doesn’t hurt that Rowell’s writing style agrees so much with me that the combination of them sent me to heaven with every sentence. My absolute favorite thing about the magic is how the spells are actually sentences we are very familiar with: nursery rhymes, popular songs, and even product slogans! Hilarious.

I was worried at first how Simon and Baz would get together because they’ve been trying to END EACH OTHER for seven years, but I feel Rowell executed it very well. I am also a fan of how refreshing Simon’s friendship is with Penelope! They’ve been friends since their first year of school, and not once did they entertain the idea of romance because that’s just not where they’re going. This doesn’t happen very often in the books I’ve read.

 All in all, this book lived up to the hype: it was everything I hoped it would be. Give it a try!

Bonus points:

Leave a Reply

